Primary run-offs are Tuesday

BY Sasha Heller

Managing Editor


Editor’s Note: This is a corrected version of a story that printed in this week’s PRESS.


Run-offs for the Cameron County Primary Election are set for Tuesday for citizens throughout Laguna Vista, Port Isabel and South Padre Island.

Early voting has been ongoing all week and will continue until 7 p.m., Friday at 505 State Highway 100 (Cameron County Annex).

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Monday; residents will vote at the following locations:

  • Port Isabel and Laguna Vista residents: at the Cameron County Annex

  • South Padre Island residents: at City Hall (4601 Padre Blvd.).

It’s important to note that citizens who voted particular to one party during the initial Primary Election are required, by law, to maintain their voting party affiliation during the Run-off Election. In other words, voters cannot “cross over.”

The Republican ballots will include the following races:

  • Lieutenant Governor: Dan Patrick; David Dewhurst

  • Attorney General: Dan Branch; Ken Paxton

  • Ag Commissioner: Sid Miller; Tommy Merritt

  • Railroad Commissioner: Ryan Sitton; Wayne Christian

The Democratic ballots will include the following races:

  • (Federal) U.S. Senator: Kesha Rogers; David M. Alameel

  • (State) Ag Commissioner: Jim Hogan; Richard “Kinky” Friedman

  • County Judge: Ruben R. Pena; Joe G. Rivera

  • District Clerk: Eric Garza; Elvira S. Ortiz

  • County Clerk: Sylvia Garza Perez; Arnold R. Flores Jr.

For more information, contact Elections Administrator Chris Davis at (956) 544-0809 or email


Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.