Shoreline Task Force approves new Department

Special to the PRESS

The Shoreline Task Force met Tuesday afternoon for a special meeting to consider details of the recently proposed Shoreline Management Department. After losing two members to the City Council, the board welcomed new members Norma Treviño and Ron Pitcock, who is also a member of the South Padre Island Economic Development Corporation (EDC).

At the request of Mayor Barry Patel, City Council and former Shoreline Task Force members Paul Munarriz and Teresa Metty began working with City staff on a plan for a new shoreline focused department. Currently, the beach is improved and maintained by the Coastal Resource and Parks Department with Administrator Reuben Treviño leading the efforts along with the help of Beach Maintenance Supervisor Joe Vela and four beach maintenance staff members. Each of these positions is provided through the beach maintenance fund, which comes from 2 percent of the Hotel Occupancy Tax (HOT) and, according to the law, can be used strictly for beach related activities. In addition, a Permits, Parks and Program Manager position is 50 percent funded through the beach maintenance fund.

Want the whole story? Pick up a copy of the Port Isabel-South Padre Press, or subscribe to our E-Edition by clicking here.

Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.