Incumbents win in Port Isabel

Port Isabel-South Padre Press

After a contentious election season, the makeup of the Port Isabel City Commission will remain the same, with all three incumbents winning their races.

Three seats on the commission were up for grabs in the Saturday, May 5 election, including the mayoral seat and Places 1 and 2.

At Place 2, Commissioner Carmen Rios drew no challengers to her re-election bid and ran unopposed. Rios received a combined total of 751 votes, including 571 votes during early voting, 27 mail-in ballots and 153 votes on Election Day. All results are unofficial until the votes are canvassed.

For the mayoral race, incumbent Juan Jose “J.J.” Zamora faced two former commissioners: former Mayor Baldemar “Balde” Alaniz, Sr. and former Commissioner Mario Tamayo.

Zamora won his bid for re-election with 51.75 percent of the vote, according to the unofficial results released by the Cameron County Elections office. Zamora won a total of 531 votes — 417 of which were cast during early voting and 95 on Election Day. County records show 19 mail-in ballots were cast for Zamora.*

*CORRECTION: In the print edition of the PRESS, the Election Day and mail-in ballot totals for Juan Jose “J.J.” Zamora were incorrectly listed as 271 and 54, respectively. County records show Zamora received 95 votes on Election Day and 19 via mail-in ballot. The PRESS regrets the error.


Want the whole story? Pick up a copy of the Port Isabel-South Padre Press, or subscribe to our E-Edition by clicking here.

Permanent link to this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.